ALT 07 Logo

This volume contains the papers presented at the 18th International Conference on Algorithmic Learning Theory (ALT 2007), which was held in Sendai (Japan) during October 1-4, 2007. The main objective of the conference was to provide an interdisciplinary forum for high-quality talks with a strong theoretical background and scientific interchange in areas such as query models, on-line learning, inductive inference, algorithmic forecasting, boosting, support vector machines, kernel methods, complexity and learning, reinforcement learning, unsupervised learning and grammatical inference. The conference was co-located with the 10th International Conference on Discovery Science (DS 2007).

This volume includes 25 technical contributions that were selected from 50 submissions by the program committee. It also contains descriptions of the five invited talks of ALT and DS; longer versions of the DS papers are available in the proceedings of DS 2007. These invited talks were presented to the audience of both conferences in joint sessions.

Since 1999, ALT has been awarding the E. Mark Gold award for the most outstanding paper by a student author. This year the award was given to Markus Maier for his paper “Cluster Identification in Nearest-Neighbor Graphs,” co-authored by Matthias Hein and Ulrike von Luxburg. We thank Google for sponsoring the E.M. Gold Award.

ALT 2007 was the 18th in a series of annual conferences established in Japan in 1990. Another ancestor of ALT 2007 is the conference series Analogical and Inductive Inference, held in 1986, 1989, and 1992, which merged with the ALT conference series after a collocation in 1994. ALT subsequently became an international conference series which has kept its strong links to Japan but has also regularly been held at overseas destinations including Australia, Germany, Italy, Singapore, Spain and the USA.

Continuation of the ALT series is supervised by its steering committee, consisting of: Thomas Zeugmann (Hokkaido University, Japan) Chair, Steffen Lange (FH Darmstadt, Germany) Publicity Chair, Naoki Abe (IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown, USA), Shai Ben-David (University of Waterloo, Canada), Marcus Hutter (Australian National University, Canberra, Australia), Roni Khardon (Tufts University, Medford, USA), Phil Long (Google, Mountain View, USA), Akira Maruoka (Ishinomaki Senshu University, Japan), Rocco Servedio (Columbia University, New York, USA), Takeshi Shinohara (Kyushu Institute of Technology, Iizuka, Japan), Frank Stephan (National University of Singapore, Republic of Singapore), Einoshin Suzuki (Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan), and Osamu Watanabe (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan).

We would like to thank all of the individuals and institutions who contributed to the success of the conference: the authors for submitting papers, and the invited speakers for accepting our invitation and lending us their insight into recent developments in their research areas. We wish to thank the following sponsors for their generous financial support: Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR); Asian Office of Aerospace Research and Development (AOARD)*; Google for sponsoring the E.M. Gold Award; Graduate School of Information Sciences (GSIS), Tohoku University for providing secretarial assistance and equipment as well; Research Institute of Electrical Communication (RIEC), Tohoku University; New Horizons in Computing, MEXT Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research on Priority Areas; and Semi-Structured Data Mining Project, MEXT Grant-in-Aid for Specially Promoted Research.

We are also grateful for the Technical Group on Computation (COMP) of the Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers (IEICE) for its technical sponsorship; Division of Computer Science, Hokkaido University for providing the web-page and online submission system; and Institute for Theoretical Computer Science, University of Lübeck where Frank Balbach developed a part of the online submission system.

We thank the Local Arrangements Chair Akira Ishino (Tohoku University, Japan) for his great assistance in making the conference a success in many ways. We thank Vincent Corruble for making the beautiful poster. We thank Springer for its continuous support in the preparation of this volume.

We would also like to thank all program committee members for their hard work in reviewing the submitted papers and participating in on-line discussions. We thank the external referees whose reviews made a substantial contribution to the process of selecting papers for ALT 2007.

We are grateful to the Discovery Science conference for its ongoing collaboration with ALT. In particular we would like to thank the Conference Chair Ayumi Shinohara (Tohoku University, Japan) and the Program Committee Chairs Vincent Corruble (UPMC, Paris, France) and Masayuki Takeda (Kyushu University, Japan) for their cooperation and support.

Finally, we would like to express special thanks to Thomas Zeugmann for his continuous support of the ALT conference series and in particular for his great service in maintaining the ALT web pages and the ALT submission system, which he programmed together with Frank Balbach and Jan Poland. Thomas Zeugmann assisted us in many ways by answering countless questions related to running the conference and preparing the proceedings.

July 2007   Marcus Hutter
  Rocco A. Servedio
  Eiji Takimoto

* AFOSR/AOARD support is not intended to express or imply endorsement by the U.S.Federal Government.


Conference Chair

Eiji Takimoto Tohoku University, Japan

Program Committee

Local Arrangements

Akira Ishino Tohoku University, Japan


Douglas AberdeenSteffen Lange
Ron BegleiterShane Legg
John Case Shie Mannor
Jiang Chen Hanna Mazzawi
Alexey Chernov Dmitry Pechyony
Alexander Clark Jim Royer
Yoav FreundTamer Salman
Alex FukunagaShai Shalev-Shwartz
Bill GasarchTakeshi Shinohara
Ricard GavaldàEtsuji Tomita
Paul GoldbergGyörgy Turán
Simon GuenterRolf Wiehagen
Jeff C. JacksonYair Wiener
Efim KinberRyo Yoshinaka
Gregory KucherovSandra Zilles

Sponsoring Institutions

Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR)
Asian Office of Aerospace Research and Development (AOARD)
Computation, IEICE of Japan
GSIS, Tohoku University
New Horizons in Computing (NHC)
RIEC, Tohoku University
Semi-Structured Data Mining Project
Division of Computer Science, Hokkaido University
Institute for Theoretical Computer Science, University at Lübeck

©Copyright Notice:
The document of this page is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved, whether the whole or part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitation, broadcasting, reproduction on microfilms or in any other way, and storage in data banks. Duplication of this publication or parts thereof is permitted only under the provision of the German Copyright Law of September 9, 1965, in its current version, and permission for use must always be obtained from Springer-Verlag. Violations are liable for prosecution under German Copyright Law.

uparrowback to the ALT 2007 Proceedings Page

uparrowuparrow back to the ALT Archives

Valid HTML 4.0