ALT 01 Logo

This volume contains the papers presented at the 12th Annual Conference on Algorithmic Learning Theory (ALT 2001), which was held in Washington DC, USA, during November 25-28, 2001. The main objective of the conference is to provide an inter-disciplinary forum for the discussion of theoretical foundations of machine learning, as well as their relevance to practical applications. The conference was co-located with the Fourth International Conference on Discovery Science (DS 2001).

The volume includes 21 contributed papers. These papers were selected by the program committee from 42 submissions based on clarity, significance, originality and relevance to theory and practice of machine learning.

Additionally, the volume also contains the invited talks of ALT 2001 presented by Dana Angluin of Yale University, USA, Paul R. Cohen of the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, USA, and the joint invited talk for ALT 2001 and DS 2001 presented by Setsuo Arikawa of Kyushu University, Japan. Furthermore, this volume contains abstracts of the invited talks for DS 2001 presented by Lindley Darden and Ben Shneiderman both of the University of Maryland at College Park, USA. The complete versions of these papers are published in the DS 2001 proceedings (Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence Vol. 2226).

ALT has been awarding the E Mark Gold Award for the most outstanding paper by a student author since 1999. This year the award was given to Ke Yang for his paper ``On Learning Correlated Boolean Functions Using Statistical Queries.''

This conference was the 12th in a series of annual conferences established in 1990. Continuation of the ALT series is supervised by its steering committee consisting of Naoki Abe (IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown, USA), Peter Bartlett (Australian National Univ.), Klaus P. Jantke (DFKI, Germany), Roni Khardon (Tufts University, USA), Phil Long (National Univ. of Singapore), Heikki Mannila (Nokia Research Center, USA), Akira Maruoka (Tohoku Univ., Sendai, Japan), Luc De Raedt (Albert-Ludwigs-Univ. Freiburg, Germany), Takeshi Shinohara (Kyushu Inst. of Technology, Japan), Osamu Watanabe (Tokyo Inst. of Technology, Japan), Arun Sharma (co-chair, Univ. of New South Wales, Australia), and Thomas Zeugmann (chair, Med. Univ. Lübeck, Germany).

We would like to thank all individuals and institutions who contributed to the success of the conference: the authors for submitting papers, the invited speakers for accepting our invitation and providing us their insight into recent developments of their research areas, the sponsors, and Springer.

We are particularly grateful to the program committee for their work in reviewing papers and participating in on-line discussions. We are also grateful to the external referees whose reviews made a considerable contribution in this process. The program committee consisted of:

Hiroki Arimura (Kyushu Univ., Japan)
Javed Aslam (Dartmouth College, USA)
Peter Bartlett (Australian National Univ., Australia),
Anselm Blumer (Tufts Univ., USA)
Carlos Domingo (Synera Systems, Spain)
Colin de la Higuera (Univ.\ St.\ Etienne, France)
Steffen Lange (DFKI, Saarbrücken, Germany)
Phil Long (National Univ., Singapore)
Eric Martin (Univ. of New South Wales, Australia)
Atsuyoshi Nakamura (NEC Labs., Japan)
Vijay Raghavan (Vanderbilt Univ., USA)
Dan Roth (Univ. Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA)
John Shawe-Taylor (Royal Holloway, Univ. of London, UK)
Eiji Takimoto (Tohoku Univ., Japan)
Christino Tamon (Clarkson Univ., USA)

We are grateful to DS 2001 chairs Masahiko Sato (Kyoto Univ., Japan), Klaus P. Jantke (DFKI, Germany), and Ayumi Shinohara (Kyushu Univ., Japan) for their effort in coordinating with ALT 2001 and to Carl Smith of the University of Maryland at College Park for his work as the local arrangements chair for both conferences.

Finally, we would like to thank the National Science Foundation, the Office of Naval Research, Agilent Technologies, Avaya Labs, and the University of Maryland for their generous financial support for the conference.

September 2001 Naoki Abe
Roni Khardon
Thomas Zeugmann

©Copyright Notice:
The document of this page is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved, whether the whole or part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitation, broadcasting, reproduction on microfilms or in any other way, and storage in data banks. Duplication of this publication or parts thereof is permitted only under the provision of the German Copyright Law of September 9, 1965, in its current version, and permission for use must always be obtained from Springer-Verlag. Violations are liable for prosecution under German Copyright Law.

back to the ALT 2001 Proceedings Page

back to the ALT Archives

Valid HTML 3.2!